AIA Florida names 2012 Honor & Design Awards Winners

AIA Florida has announced the 2012 AIA Florida/Caribbean Honor & Design Awards.

Unbuilt Awards


  • Highland Recreation Center at Largo by Gould Evans
  • “Into USF” Education Center by Robert MacLeod, AIA and Dr. Levent Kara, Assoc. AIA
  • Mills 50 Bus Stop Shelter Prototype by Process Architecture, LLC
  • Quogue House by Guy Peterson|OFA


  • The Prairie Chapel by hughes|umbanhowar

Award of Excellence


  • New Work – Icon Brickell and Viceroy Hotel (Mixed-use) by Arquitectonica
  • New Work – Indian Creek House by Rene Gonzalez Architect
  • New Work – Parasol House by Touzet Studio
  • Additions – Florida International University US Century Bank Arena by Gould Evans
  • Additions – Shelborne South Beach by ADD, Inc.
  • Renovation – Soho Beach House by Shulman + Associates


  • New Work – Caspersen Beach Restroom Pavilion by TOTeMS, Inc.
  • New Work – East Los Angeles College, Performing & Fine Arts Complex by Arquitectonica
  • New Work – St. Stephen’s Main Highway Pavilion by Jenifer Briley + Associates
  • Additions – The Kettal Showroom by Mateu Architecture, Inc.
  • Additions – Warehouse Structures by Chandler & Associates
  • Additions – William H. Johnston Building at The Florida State University by Gould Evans

Theoretical & Research Design


  • Designing on the 23rd Parallel by John Carino, Assoc. AIA
  • Museum of Troy by Dr. Levent Kara, Assoc. AIA

COTE Sustainable Design Award

  • Merit – High-rise Energy Office Renovations by Gensler
  • Honor – St. Stephen’s Main Highway Pavilion by Jenifer Briley + Associates

Masonry Award


  • Bonaire House by Silberstein Architecture

Test of Time


  • Luminaire Showroom by Mateu Architecture, Inc.
  • Williers House by John Howey, FAIA

Honor Awards

  • Gold Medal – Donald T. Yoshino, FAIA (AIA Palm Beach)
  • Silver Medal – Melody Bishop, AIA (AIA Jacksonville)
  • Firm of the Year – MC Harry & Associates (AIA Miami)
  • Allied Member of the Year – PGT Industries, Inc.
  • Associate Individual Honor Award – Clarice Sollog, Assoc. AIA
  • Bob Graham Architectural Awareness Award – Mayor Buddy Dyer, City of Orlando
  • Photographer of the Year – Claudia Uribe

Comments are closed.